my top ten childhood favorites

Hi!

Look! I actually completed The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday on a Tuesday! This week was a rewind week, which means you can choose any past Top Ten Tuesday topic to do. I chose one that looked fun: My Top Ten Childhood Favorites. I have plenty of picture books/early chapter books I love NOW {Fancy Nancy, anyone?} but I had to choose books that I loved from when I was little. Not too challenging, but I had to consult my mom and dad for some help.     Even if you didn’t choose this one to do as your official Top Ten, what did you read as little kid?

Biscuit (My First I Can Read)

[1] The Biscuit series by Alyssa Satin Capucilli

Biscuit was one of the first books I loved! I remember going to the local bookstore to buy the complete collection of Biscuit stories :) Oh, to be a little girl…

Tales Of Amanda Pig (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) (Puffin Easy-To-Read)

[2] The Amanda and Oliver Pig series by Jean Van Leeuwen

I was super close with Amanda Pig when I was little ;) I’m pretty sure I took out every. single. book. in the series one time at the library. I wish I had the amount of time to read now like I did then!

Cam Jansen:  The Mystery of the Dinosaur Bones (Cam Jansen)

[3] The Cam Jansen series by David A. Alder

Cam Jansen is the perfect example of a smart female main character. I was always a fan of mysteries, even then!

The Boxcar Children Bookshelf (The Boxcar Children Mysteries, Books 1-12)

[4] The Boxcar Children series by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Guys, I loved The Boxcar Children. And, I mean, LOVED. I have seriously read all 125 {I think there’s 125? It’s pretty close.} books, and I can still summarize the first story for you!

Minnie and Moo: The Night of the Living Bed (I Can Read Book 3)

[5] The Minnie and Moo books by Denys Cazet

How could you not have read a book with two ridiculous cows on the cover? Really. Get your act together :)

The High-Rise Private Eyes #1: The Case of the Missing Monkey (I Can Read Book 2)

[6] The High-Rise Private Eyes books by Cynthia Rylant

Jack and Bunny are too cute. This series pokes fun at the classic detective image, and reading about them now, I can see why Rylant created the characters in a certain way. I always loved how Bunny screamed when she broke her fingernail. Oh, silly Bunny…

Magic Tree House Boxed Set, Books 1-4: Dinosaurs Before Dark, The Knight at Dawn, Mummies in the Morning, and Pirates Past Noon

[7] The Magic Tree House series by Mary Pope Osborne

I don’t know one kid who hasn’t heard and/or read the Magic Tree House books. Personally, I liked the Merlin Missions better than the originals, but you can’t go wrong with any Jack and Annie adventure.

Olivia

[8] Olivia by Ian Falconer

Definitely one of my favorite picture books as a kid. It’s clear that I had an obsession with fictional pigs when I was little.

Judy Moody (Book #1)

[9] The Judy Moody books by Megan McDonald

Judy Moody is sarcastic, funny, and very opinionated. I believe I read the first three books in one night. I was extremely proud of myself the next day! Hehe.

Lucy Rose: Here's the Thing About Me

[10] The Lucy Rose books by Katy Kelly

Lucy Rose rocks my socks off. She’s so cool :)

After discussing what I read as a kid, I remembered I couldn’t stand The Little House on the Prairie series. Please tell me I wasn’t the only one…

Have a lovely night!

Bella :)

2 thoughts on “my top ten childhood favorites

Say Hello!

