Prada and Prejudice: A Book Review

Hi!

Prada and Prejudice

Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard

Summary: Callie is on a high school trip to London with no one to keep her company. Trying to impress the popular girls, Callie buys a pair of real Prada pumps. Unfortunately, the combination of a size too big and Callie’s clumsiness makes her trip and fall on the cobblestones. When she wakes up, she finds herself in the year 1815! Unsure if she’s lost or if it’s all a dream, Callie quickly make friends with the kindhearted Emily, who mistakes Callie for an old friend. As Callie spends time with Emily’s family, she develops a crush on the cute, yet arrogant, Duke of Harksbury, or Alex. Callie doesn’t want to admit it, but could she actually have feelings for him? Juggling both her complicated relationship with Alex and saving Emily from a dire engagement, Callie only has a month before the real Rebecca arrives! Will she be able to prove that she not just a big mouth klutz before the gig is up?

My Thoughts: This one {like Enthusiasm} was about Pride and Prejudice, so I HAD to read it! It was well-written, but a tad “fluffy.” This book was labeled as YA, and well, to a certain sense, it fits in that category, it was really clean for a young adult novel. It should have been geared to middle school readers. Callie was well-developed, but no one can compare with Elizabeth. Really, though, you have to go in to writing a book like this knowing that your heroine can not live up to Elizabeth and Darcy :) I thought Callie had some hilarious one-liners, especially the ones that referenced math and science. They all looked at her like she was nuts! In the beginning, she came of as a bit whiny and kind of clueless, but as the story went on, I found her more and more likable. She and Alex were AHdorable! :) Alex and Darcy were quite similar, and I appreciate how the author stayed with the same personality. I think the moments when he came “alive,” when he laughed or smiled, were the most enjoyable to read about, although it was quite funny when he was very angry. Emily was a doll, and I can’t imagine what she must have done when she met the real Rebecca. I do wish the author elaborated bit more on what happened to Emily, Victoria, and Alex. She left me wondering how did Emily’s marriage go? What happened to Alex? And Victoria? So, the ending left me wanting more. I thought it was clever of the author to tie everything together, and I imagine that Callie and modern-day Alex went through exactly what Callie and 1815 Alex did. I was pleasantly surprised at how delightful a read this was! I am looking forward to reading Mandy Hubbard’s other books.

Pros: Well-written plot.

Cons: The characters could have used a tad more development.

Heads Up: Romance, although it does not go into detail.

Overall: I give it 4 and 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Bella :)

3 thoughts on “Prada and Prejudice: A Book Review

    • Probably Prada and Prejudice, although both were good :) I haven’t checked out Epic Fail or Prom and Prejudice, although I will soon!
      Sorry for my late reply. This was marked as Spam, for some odd reason.
      B :)

      Like

Say Hello!

