The Unseen Guest: A Book Review

Hello!

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book III: The Unseen Guest

The Unseen Guest by Maryrose Wood

Summary: After their rather exciting trip to London, the three Incorrigibles and their governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, return to their home at Ashton Place. They are welcomed with the news that Lord Frederick Ashton’s other will be visiting. The house staff is busy organizing the home, the cook is preparing a dinner, and Ashton’s wife is in tizzy because her hair is a mess! Once the honorable Lady Ashton arrives, adventure is not far behind. The elderly women came with her good friend, Admiral Faucet, an adventurous explorer. Both the Admiral and the Lady take quick interest in the three children, although Penelope notices for different reasons. When Admiral Faucet’s beloved ostrich lets loose in the forest, he turns to Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia for help. With their keen smell and experience in the forest, they are sure to agree to help. Penelope? Not so much. Not having set one foot in the woods, Penelope would rather stay by the fire than venture into the unknown. Lady Ashton, on the other hand, loves the children as if they are her own, and is pleased that her son took them in. Not are they’re visitors, Penelope has yet to solve the mystery of the howling and the supposed curse! But, it’s expected that she would get nothing done with three Incorrigibles around…

My Thoughts: Loved Book One. Loved Book Two. And, now, loved Book Three. Maryrose Wood has such a quirky and suspenseful style of writing, and it keeps me hooked from the very first page! To start, I would definitely recommend reading   Book One and Two before reading this one. This is a perfect example of a series that should be read in order. Even after reading the first two books, I still don’t remember some of the details that led up to the plot of The Unseen Guest. I can’t expect Wood to write them any faster, so I am stuck just rereading them to keep the story fresh ;) Anyhoo, the three Incorrigibles are JUST SO cute! I love them all in their own way. Alexander, for his gentleman-ish actions, Bewoulf Beowulf {always spell his name wrong!} for, well, just being Beowulf, and Cassiopeia, for being an adorable toddler, yet still having ferocious side. I love their dialogue, especially because you don’t expect them to be as smart as they are! Penelope was the sensible, responsible governess she always is. However, I found she has been going outside of her comfort zone, therefore growing as a character. Taking a trip in the woods is not something I would even imagine her doing, but, then again, she completed it quite differently than the children. Can you believe that she is only 15!? That means she was 24 when she began her position as a governess! What’s up with that? I think I would remember THAT of all things… I liked Admiral Faucet in the beginning, or at least, tolerated him, but as the start continued, I liked him less and less. More did we see that he was just in it for the money, not for true love. Oh well. Lady Ashton didn’t deserve a jerk like him :) I was so happy to see Simon and the gypsy lady return and I loved the crazy plot line. The flow of the writing was disrupted at times. The story is told be an imaginary narrator, so there are moments when the “narrator” stops and comments on the story. I liked the idea, but at the same time, it could have been disguised better, if that’s the right word? Overall, a pleasant read, with very few “bumps” to improve.

Pros: Developed characters and a suspenseful plot.

Cons: Choppy writing?

Heads Up: Nothing very big.

Overall: I give it 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 8 and up.

Total side note. Don’t the cover illustrations look the same? Or is that just me?

Vanished

rachel glee

Wasn’t Glee just amazing?! I <3 the two episodes, and i can’t wait for next week’s finale! Just a few points I would like to mention…

  • tina I loved that she finally got her chance to shine! She is an amazing singer, but every time, she breaks down crying.  The body swaps were hilarious! Puck and Finn make a fabulous Blaine and Kurt. Haha :)
  • beiste and puck Their duet was one of my favorite performances of the night, {to be totally honest, I liked them all!} and their scene in the locker room was so touching. I’m glad he got another chance at his test!
  • nationals AHmazing. Vocal Adrenaline blows my mind :) I also found Jesse to be nicer. Weird.

All in all, Glee did an outstanding job, and, honestly, their finale better be good. What did you think?

Bella :)

Say Hello!

