The Princess of the Midnight Ball: A Book Review

Hi!

Princess of the Midnight Ball

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

Summary: Rose, Lily, Jonquil and their other nine sisters have longed for the curse to be unbroken. Their mother had made a deal with the devious King Under Stone, but she died before she could finish her part. Now her twelve daughters have to continue the promise, or the King will be furious with them. The princesses are forced to dance every single night until dawn, and their suitors aren’t even human! When an awful cold strikes the girls, their energy and strength disappears. Still, they must dance through the night, and each morning, their dance shoes are worn out. Their father is to his wit’s ends, but the princesses are unable to tell him the truth. To help uncover the secret, their dad has various princes travel to the palace. If they figure out the truth, they can wed any one of his daughters. Not one of the handsome men can figure out the truth, but could the new under-gardener, Galen help the sisters?

My Thoughts: My lovely sister recommended this book for me, and I’m oh-so happy she did :) Jessica Day George reminds me of anther terrific fantasy author, E.D. Baker, whose books I read in days! This is a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses, but it had its twists. The twelve sisters were each different in their own ways. I loved them all, but especially Pansy, Rose, and Iris. I think it was hard for them to be fully “rounded” characters because there was twelve of them, and the book can only be so long, you know? Despite that, the author did her best, and I think it was pretty well done. I would love to see twelve of these books, one for each princess, but I don’t know what George has in the works. This one was definitely focused on Rose, the oldest. She was the ideal example for the perfect princess, if that’s even possible :) She was kind, smart, caring, and down-to-earth. She and Galen were so so cute together! The scenes toward the end were the best. By that point, their chemistry was evident, and their relationship was planned out. Lily and Jonquil were very supportive of their sister, and I was happy that Lily found her true love again. Jonquil was a bit vain, but she had that fiery spirit which I admire. The middle set of sisters were lost, but I hope in the next book, they will appear a bit more. With that being said, the only girls that weren’t lost were the twins. They are SO funny, and I loved how opposite they were from each other. Pansy was totally my favorite. OH. MY. She was adorable! She was a cutie-patootie. Good spirit?! How could you NOT fall in love with her by then? I hated Angier. He reminded me of Effie in every single way. They are as young as five, and you’re accusing them of witchcraft? Uhh, no. Just no.  The King Under Stone was another hated character. Ergh. I laughed when he died. It served him right. And, finally, Galen. Sweet, handsome Galen. You are the perfect prince, to match the perfect princess :) Can I just say that it is very admirable to find a man who can knit? So, yes, the story was a bit predictable, but it was cute, and it’s hard to be original when you are retelling a classic fairy tale. I already have the next book in my TBR pile on my bookcase!

Pros: I loved each character’s personality. They really came out in the dialogue and action of the story. The story moved quickly, and it was enjoyable to read.

Cons: The plot and characters could use a little improvement.

Heads Up: Romance and some violence. {I would say it’s all middle school friendly}

Overall: I give it  4-ish stars {****} and recommend it for ages 10 and up.

Did any of you watch The Amazing Race on Sunday? I was so relieved when Bopper and Mark were saved! I was about to cry.

Bella :)

7 thoughts on “The Princess of the Midnight Ball: A Book Review

  1. I too was very teary during AR. Such a true and loving friendship is so rare and so beautiful! I hope Mark and Bopper win in the end.

    Like

  2. I loooooooooooooooooooooooooove princess of the midnight ball:)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

Say Hello!

