I’ll Be Watching: A Book Review

Hello!

I'll Be Watching

I’ll Be Watching by Pamela Porter

Summary: In the small town of Argue, Saskatchewan, siblings Ran, Nora, Jim and Addie are struggling to survive. When their father died in a drunken stupor, they are left to the care of Effie, his bitter second wife. However, Effie absolutely despises the children, and she runs off to California with a traveling Bible salesman. Left on their own, the Loney kids will have to find a way to make ends meet. Ran goes off to war in hopes that he will earn a bit of money. Nora takes charge of caring for her younger brothers, cooking dinner and cleaning the house. Jim learns to hunt for food and chop just about anything for firewood. And little Addie. He knows that their parents are watching over them, helping every step of the way. This may be a start, but it won’t be enough. With the war hanging over the town and everyone’s financial struggles, who will care to help the four kids? It will take a group of good people and the watchful eyes of two ghosts to make sure the Loney children live.

My Thoughts: When I picked this up, I had no idea what I was in for. I didn’t even realize that the story was set in verse! What I thought would be an entertaining ghost story was much much more. It stirred up so many emotions and it was beautifully written. I’ll Be Watching is separated into several sections, and then each section is divided into many character’s points of view. There are over a dozen POV’s, but it wasn’t as confusing as it may sound. Pamela Porter did a good job differentiating each voice and the story flowed nicely. Nora was very mature for her age, and she dealer with the crisis much better that I would have :) She took charge, and it was very admirable. Ran had many sides to him, and he was a bit unpredictable. He was a good big brother to them though, and the author showed his care for them quite well. Jim was memorable right from the beginning, when he got angry that his teacher didn’t know Pluto was a planet! I loved his guts and he really became the “man” of the house at twelve years old. Oh, and Addie. I loved him. SO much. I just wished that there was one line in which he talked. Just at the very end. It would have fully finished the story. I must say that I didn’t like their dad at first. He seemed not to care for his kids, but it wasn’t until he died, and the reader really got into his thoughts that I felt sympathy for him. Living, he didn’t know what to do. He was “broken.” I loved how he helped his kids, and he became a much more likable character :) Margaret, their mother, had the leadership, but I never really connected with her because she was a ghost from the very beginning. All of the main characters were developed, but it was the minor characters that got lost in the shuffle. I hated the postmistress for what she did. How could you do that to the children?! You don’t open mail that’s not yours, and then steal the money!!! It’s just wrong. I also hated when Effie came back. You left them on their OWN for months, and then you come back, and you’re mad at them because the house is a mess and the electricity is off? Their was no money and they are kids, Effie! KIDS! Well, now that is done :) You can see what I meant by an emotion-stirring story.

Pros: Well-written story and developed characters. It was also an intriguing historical fiction, which can be hard to find. The verse flowed nicely, and it really connected with the reader.

Cons: Nothing!

Heads Up: There are a few violent scenes and some unnecessary bad words.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Bella :)

5 thoughts on “I’ll Be Watching: A Book Review

  1. Hi Bella, Thanks for the wonderful words about I’ll Be Watching. It’s a wonderful thing you do, to let others know about books you like and to spread the word! All the best, Pamela Porter

    Like

Say Hello!

