The Undrowned Child: A Book Review

Hi!

 The Undrowned Child

The Undrowned Child by Michelle Lovric

Summary: Teodora has lived in Naples with her adoptive parents for all of her eleven years, but she has always had a strange urge to visit Venice. When the opportunity finally arises, Teo and her mom and dad travel there to find the city in a horrible state. People are dying left and right, and the canals aren’t in the best shape either. It isn’t until Teo faints in an old bookstore and finds a book called The Key to Secret City that she realizes how bad the conditions are. She finds out that she is the “Undrowned Child” and it is her job to save the city of Venice. Bajamonte Tiepolo wants revenge, for he was mocked and murdered in Venice. However, he’s dangerous, and with an entire army of powerful creatures, he could actually succeed with his plan. It’s up to Teo and the “Studious Son,” Renzo, along with the help of ghosts, mermaids, and friendly animals, to stop Bajamonte and save the beloved city!

My Thoughts: I was really drawn into this book from the book description. Venice is such an interesting place {it’s on my LONG list of places I would like to visit} and using it as a setting for a historical fiction novel intrigued me. The story reminded me of plenty of novels, but my first thought was that it was similar to the book, The Thief Lord, by Cornelia Funke. The stories are very different, but for some reason, it kept reminding me of it. Teo was a developed character, but I didn’t feel any connection with her. There’s no particular explanation, but I liker Renzo over her. Renzo was quite the gentleman :) He was very sweet and I liked him and Teo together. He did exaggerate a bit and was a teeny bit boastful, but you could clearly see that he loved his city and wanted to protect it. I often don’t read fantasy, so this was a change for me. Lussa, the “head” mermaid, was calm in times of tension, and I loved what she did for Teo at the end. Lussa didn’t even want to talk about it afterwards, which was hard for me to understand. You just give up your beautiful skin to save Teo, and you have nothing to say!? There were a LOT of characters in the two armies, and it was difficult to keep them all straight. It was even harder because of their names, which I can’t pronounce ;)  Bajamonte Teipolo was creepy, but he definitely added a layer of darkness to the story. I kind of felt bad for him at the end, but then I looked back in what he did, and I didn’t feel sorry for him anymore! The actual plot dragged along. I thought it would have been better if it was shorter? I didn’t think 430 pages were necessary to tell the whole story. In the end, it was an interesting read, but I don’t think it was suited for my taste…

Pros: The character development was outstanding and the writing was simple gorgeous. Lovric had terrific word choice and her descriptions were so vivid.

Cons: I didn’t find the plot to be that fun. It was okay, but the story could have had more of an entertainment factor.

Heads Up: There are like two bad words in the entire book, but the violence is there, for sure.

Overall: I give it 3 {***} stars. The age group is tough, because the writing is sophisticated, but I think the story is more geared to 10 year olds. Maybe 11 and up?

The Mourning Emporium

In August, Scratch that. It’s already out, but the paperback comes out in August. Teo and Renzo return in a sequel, The Mourning Emporium. I might check it out, just because it is set in London :)

Monday Morning -- a new dress from Melody Valerie Couture

My favorite was Monday Morning. It’s sold out now :(

On a totally unrelated note, Melody Valerie’s summer line was so pretty! There are only two dresses available, so act now if you want to purchase one. Their shop can be found here.

Bella :)

One thought on “The Undrowned Child: A Book Review

Say Hello!

