The Hunger Games

Hi!

Ooh, let’s ;)

The Hunger Games {2012}

Stars

  • Jennifer Lawrence
  • Josh Hutcherson
  • Liam Hemsworth
  • Willow Shields
  • Amanda Stenburg
  • Alexander Ludwig
  • Elizabeth Banks
  • Woody Harrelson
  • Stanley Tucci

Summary: I decided to use the same summary as the one I wrote for my book review because the basic plot is the same. In the ruins of what was once known as North America, lies the country of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve districts. Long ago, the districts fought against the Capitol and were defeated. If they were to surrender, they had to agree to send one boy and one girl from each district to participate in the annual, brutal Hunger Games. A fight to death on television, the boys and girls, or the tributes, have to kill one another until only the victor remains. When Katniss {Lawrence}’ younger sister, Prim {Shields}, is chosen as a tribute, Katniss volunteers to take her place. Along with Peeta {Hutcherson}, the son of a baker, Katniss is put against bigger, stronger representatives, who have no doubt been preparing for the games for their entire life. There are poisonous plants, deadly animals, and starvation, but Katniss promised Prim she would try her best to win. Will Katniss survive, or will one of the other tributes get to her first?

My Thoughts: Okay, I think we can assume I am a humongous Hunger Games fan by now, yes? Like I said on Friday, my book club’s choice for March was The Hunger Games and we saw the movie yesterday, and, afterwards, discussed and compared it to the book. Anyhoo, don’t hurt me, but I was a tad underwhelmed. There was so much hype and anticipation, that when I saw the actual movie, not broken up into short clips, that it didn’t deliver as well as I thought it was going to. It was still a solid movie, but with such an outstanding book, it can never live up to that standard. Jennifer Lawrence kicked butt as Katniss, and I totally changed my mind about her! She did an amazing job conveying the rawness and barely there emotions of Katniss, but she did just as well in the more emotional scenes. Josh Hutcherson was a smart choice for Peeta, and I thought he captured Peeta’s sensitive nature. He especially stood out at the reaping when his name was called. I wanted to cry when I saw his face. I was expecting to cry as well when Rue died, but their friendship was so rushed that it didn’t build the relationship that was in the book. It had less significance than it should have. However, Amanda Stenburg is definitely on my radar now. I hope to see her in other movies! Prim was another young character, and it broke my heart to see her screaming for Katniss. I believe we see more of her in future movies. Yay :) Elizabeth Banks seriously rocked as Effie. There’s no other way to put it. She was hilarious, and she reminded me so much of the Effie I imagined. FAB job! Violence wasn’t really an issue, although the story is incredibly gory. Most of the death is implied by the cannons and the few shots with blood. Cinna. Oh, how I missed you. Terrific actor, along with a terrific character, equals a terrific performance. Umm? Did Katniss’ mother feel nothing, like at all? I know this is how she “acts,” but not even a tear or sob? Last thing, promise ;) I am kind of half and half with the ending. It was different, but at the same time, it closed everything up, AND provided the suspense. So, I don’t know. Alrighty, I should probably stop rambling now…

Pros: The casting and performances of the actors.

Cons:The movie is 2 1/2 hours long, but I still felt that the story was rushed, leaving out crucial details. The ending wasn’t stellar either.

Heads Up: Violence, as I said above, is not as a big of an issue. There are a couple of scenes in which the sensitive bunch might want to look away, and there are a few startling moments, but they handled it quite well.

Overall: I give it 4 {****} stars. I recommend it for the people who have read the book {although, even if you haven’t, you would understand} and ages 12 and up.

Bella :)

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

Say Hello!

