Jane Eyre: A Book Review

Hello!

Sorry for disappearing the past few days! Jane Eyre took me a bit longer than I expected to finish, but my book reviews aren’t usually this far apart, as you all know.

Reader, I married him.

{I’m in love with this cover! The photo is from here.}

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

*Read on my Kindle

Summary: Jane Erye was nothing but a young, orphaned girl living with her cruel aunt and cousins. Constantly ridiculed and bullied, Jane grew up alone, never a fan of her aunt’s. Her misery then continued for another eight years at Lowood, a school where discipline and order were a must. Jane was a student for six years, and she was a teacher for two, but in that time her only true friends were Miss Temple and Helen Burns, both of whom disappeared from her life. Overcome with a feeling of wanderlust, Jane arranged for a position as governess to a young French girl, Adèle Varens. She arrives at the mysterious Thornfield to tutor Adèle, and finds out that she is employed by a rather dark and strange man by the name Mr. Rochester. After months together at Thornfield, it’s no secret that the two love each other. However, both Mr. Rochester and Jane are holding secrets of their own.

My Thoughts: However long it may be, I really enjoyed Jane Eyre! This was my first free book from Amazon, and with the announcement of the last Mother-Daughter Book Club book {last paragraph}, I decided it would be the perfect time to read the classic. I read Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice over the summer, so I kind of knew what to expect for the language, but Jane Eyre was much more gothic, and focused on the emotions. In P&P, The romance was based on society and status, so it was easy to tell the two styles of writing apart. Jane had frequent mood swings, and well that could be annoying at times, it really developed her as a character. The reader was able to see her many feelings on one matter. I found her more enjoyable as a child and in her “tweens,” than when she was a governess, because she had a more vivacious and lively spirit to her. Mr. Rochester was awfully moody, and he was quite unapproachable in the beginning. I know he and Jane love each other with all their hearts, but in the beginning, I couldn’t really see the relationship/connection. Adèle was a sweetie, and she helped me to practice my French :) I liked how Ms. Fairfax was almost like a mother figure to Jane, but also a close friend. She looked out for Jane, and she seemed quite nice, although a bit oblivious. My two favorite characters would have to be Diane and Mary! They welcomed Jane like she was family, and I loved their charming personalities! On the other hand, I disliked their brother, Mr. St. John. He was rude and insensitive to Jane, focused more on his work. I could go on, but there are dozens of characters. As I mentioned above, the story moves very slowly. The length of the book isnt’s long, but the plot has very little action. If I had to choose between the two, I would choose Pride and Prejudice over Jane Eyre because I liked the classic love story of Elizabeth and Darcy over the mixed up one of Rochester and Jane.

Pros: Developed characters and a well-written love story.

Cons: The plot is slow and some chapters seemed to go on forever.

Heads Up: There is a mentally disabled woman who puts fire to a bed and house, and commits suicide. Minor language issues. And, of course, the story is all about love.

Overall: I give it 4 stars for a good classic. I recommend it for ages 13 to 14 and up.

Jane Eyre Film

If you ever have the chance to see the 2011 version of Jane Eyre, please do! Even if you haven’t read the book, it is a terrific adaption. Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender both did a terrific job playing Jane and Mr. Rochester.

 Bella :)

9 thoughts on “Jane Eyre: A Book Review

  1. I am so glad I’m not the only one who found Jane Eyre a drag in certain places. I loved the novel, I truly did. It’s one of my favourites, but not because of the pacing. The love story was unique, but I liked it because they both were plain and nothing special (appearance-wise), which is so unlike many love stories where the man and the woman are both gorgeous. The 2011 adaption was visually beautiful; however, I still felt there was something missing to it. I plan on watching the other adaptions one day to make a fully informed decision (I know, I sound like a geek). Anyways, great post and I look forward to reading your next one =)

    Like

    • I agree completely! Their plain features makes for an interesting love story. Now that I have read Jane Eyre, I’m excited to see the other adaptions too :) Since I saw the 2011 version before reading the book, I first found it wonderful, but I can see why someone would think there was something missing, if that makes any sense? Happy reading!

      Like

  2. I don’t know; I read this book when I was 13 and hated it. I thought it was too depressing and boring, and I didn’t find the love story interesting at all. Maybe I’ll have to read it again to see if I enjoy it like you did.

    Like

    • I know plenty of people that found the story depressing and boring, and some didn’t even make it past the first chapter, so you’re not alone. I am a bit of a romantic, so it all depends on your preferences. However, reading a book again never hurt! Thanks for stopping by :)

      Like

  3. […] I was happy to see that Jane Eyre was one of my summer reading options this year because I liked it quite a bit during my first reading. I’m excited to revisit Jane’s story once again, and hopefully, I can catch some of the little details I might have missed earlier. If you do read Brontë’s novel {or already have}, you also have the perfect excuse to watch the film version, starring Michael Fassbender as Mr. Rochester. It’s excellent! {review} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

