Mockingjay: A Book Review

Hello!

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, Book 3)

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

*Read on the Kindle

If you have never read Mockingjay, or are in the middle of reading it, I would suggest NOT reading the review because of the amount of spoilers ;) You have been warned.

Summary: The citizens of Panem have struggled for a long time. They have gone hungry for weeks, been tortured for nothing, and have had to live under the rule of President Snow. Now, they are declaring war against the Capitol, and the “rebels” won’t stop until they get what they want. Freedom. Living underground in District 13, Katniss had been chosen as the Mockingjay, the face of the revolution. She leads and inspire the people of Panem through propos and visits to the dilapidated districts. Although she may look calm and collected on camera, Katniss is close to breaking down. She is constantly worried about Peeta and his survival at Capitol, and she is unable to function on her own half the time! The rebels need her, but will Katniss be able to survive the war herself?

My Thoughts: I went into reading Mockingjay knowing that many fans of the first two books disliked it, but I didn’t think it was that bad. It has a much different focus, that’s for sure! This one is on the war, well the other two books are on the games. I thought Mockingjay was more depressing, especially with the amount of deaths and accidents. I actually didn’t mind Katniss at first, and then I began to dislike her, and now I can’t stand her! The Hunger Games shaped her into a negative and depressed woman, and she was never fully “there” in the book. Katniss was always crying, over thinking, doubting, or feeling bad for herself. Peeta wasn’t “real” in this one either. I miss the sweet, compassionate baker! Like Katniss, The Hunger Games shaped him into an unstable and depressing man. I hated that Collins killed my favorite characters off :( Why did Cinna, Boggs, Finnick, and Prim have to die? The author created a lot of flat, one-dimensional characters that were there for a few chapters, and then were killed off. I didn’t like the effect that it had on the story. The ending felt rushed, and it squeezed in the result of the Love Triangle in four pages. I know Katniss was going to end up with either Peeta and Gale, but I am really glad that she choose Peeta. I can’t wait for that part in the movie :) I think I am going to stop now, but overall, I was disappointed with the last book in the trilogy.

Pros: The writing was solid.

Cons: Flat characters, sad plot, and okay story developement.

Heads Up: War, violence, drinking.

Overall: I give it 3 stars {***} for a disappointing ending to a wonderful series. I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

To read my The Hunger Games review, click here.

To read my Catching Fire review, click here.

Bella :)

6 thoughts on “Mockingjay: A Book Review

  1. […] This one may be a little more obvious than the others, but who hasn’t fallen in love with Katniss’ designer?! Cinna, along with Prim and Finnick, made me smile every time while reading the trilogy, even if the circumstances in that current chapter were grim. {my reviews: book one, book two, book three} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

