Catching Fire: A Book Review

Hello!

Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games)

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

*Read on the Kindle

Summary: The 74th annual Hunger Games has just ended, and against all odds, both Katniss and Peeta have been named the victors. However, the Capitol is angry with Katniss for her supposed act of rebellion, and neither she nor her loved ones are safe in their hands. One wrong move, and Gale could be killed. Cinna could be captured. Prim could be tortured. Katniss is about to run away, when the Quarter Quell is announced. The Quarter Quell happens every 25 years and is an even deadlier version of the Hunger Games. One year, there were 48 tributes instead of 24! This year, President Snow announces that one girl and one boy, chosen from the victors from each district, will have to compete again. Being the only girl who won in District Twelve, Katniss prepares to compete in the arena one more time. And she is not planning on coming back.

My Thoughts: Please note that I am in the middle of Mockingjay, so I apologize for any mistakes! Of course, there may be a few spoilers too! I loved The Hunger Games, so I was excited to start the second and third books over my February vacation. I found this one more rushed, like Collins was trying to cram every last detail in one book. Katniss was even tougher and more distant than before, and I disliked her personality. I mean, I get you are trying to protect Peeta, and you can’t decide between him and Gale, and you are being thrown into the Hunger Games again, and President Snow would like you dead, but you don’t have  to be so harsh. I did like Peeta more and more in this one, and as I am reading Mockingjay, I worry about him and his survival! Finnick was awesome. That’s all I need to say. I kind of missed Effie in this one. She wasn’t there as often, but she added a unique layer to the story. Oh, and the whole Cinna being taken away? I did not like that. AT ALL :( I loved the author’s idea of making the arena into a clock. To be honest, it came as a complete surprise to me! Like the first book, I understand Gale is supposed to be a huge deal, but I really can’t see why. He was in much less scenes than Peeta and Finnick, so I don’t get where Suzanne Collins was going with that. Anyhoo, I think you can guess by me reading the third book that I like this series :)

Pros: A fairly well-written plot and developed characters.

Cons: The story was rushed and it was a bit over-the-top.

Heads Up: Once again, the Hunger Games requires LOTS of killing, so this is not a read for the sensitive type. There is also a graphic description of a whipping and other violent events.

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} for a good sequel to a great novel. I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Read my review of the first book here.

One more month until the movie guys! As I was reading Catching Fire, I kept asking myself how are they going to transfer this to the movie screen. There are plenty of overly graphic moments, and there is no why this will be rated R. Thoughts?

The winter finale of Glee is on tonight! Exciting, yes?

Bella :) 

7 thoughts on “Catching Fire: A Book Review

  1. I really like that you have some criticism of this book. Every single review of the Hunger Games trilogy that I’ve read has been all about how wonderful they are. I actually didn’t find the books to be as mind-bogglingly spectacular as most people seem to but I did like them. Interesting review!

    Like

    • I find that people either loved or hated the trilogy. There doesn’t seem to be much of an “in-between.” I do think that if a book does deserve some criticism, reviewers should mention it, no matter how popular the book is!
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!
      Bella :)

      Like

Say Hello!

