Sketchy Behavior: A Book Review

Hello!

Sketchy Behavior

Sketchy Behavior by Erynn Mangum

Summary: Kate Carter is a pretty normal teenager. She’s sarcastic, artistic, and has two slightly odd parents. But once she is introduced to the career of forensic sketching in her art class, Kate becomes a local hero and celebrity. Why? She draws a near perfect image of the wanted murderer, John X, and the police are able to catch him using her picture. Now, Kate is constantly surrounded by policemen, her parents are overwhelmed with worry, and the local new station keeps sending her dozens of flowers! John X wants revenge, and with the help of his friends, he puts Kate and the people she loves in danger. Will her life ever go back to being normal?

My Thoughts: Oh. My. Word. Sketchy Behavior went above my expectations, and I am SO glad to have read it! Kate was the perfect blend of sarcasm and humor, and she kept me engaged with her witty lines and hilarious personality. SPOILER ahead :) Now, I loved DJ {one of the police officers that watched Kate}. He was like the older brother Kate didn’t really have, and I thought he was sweet and charming. Then, Erynn Mangum had to make him EVIL!!! I was quite upset because he was my favorite character :( Although, to not have me know about his past just goes to show what a terrific writer she is. I’m just still not happy with the turn of events. However,  Kent {the other police officer} was pretty cool, and he was a perfectly good person. Out of Kate’s parents, I preferred her mom. Her dad was a bit too protective for me. I <3 how easy-going and supportive Kate’s best friend, Maddy, was! You could tell they had a solid friendship. Speaking of, the whole relationship between Jason and Kate? I did no see that coming. At all. The shot in the parade reminded me of the scene in Wolves, Boys, and Other Things That Might Kill Me when Virgil was shot at. The motive was in no way similar, but the parade and the shot were connected, if you know what I mean. Well, I guess I will have to go check out the author’s other books from the library. Hopefully, my favorite characters won’t be former murderers this time.

Pros: A suspenseful plot and developed characters.

Cons: I disliked the ending. It was too abrupt, and I wanted more to the story. However, I think if it was any longer, I would have gotten bored. So, I am not really sure what to think.

Heads Up: There’s a murderer. That’s about it.

Overall: I was all set to give it 5 stars, but that ending and the whole DJ being bad earns it 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} which is still outstanding. I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Wonderstruck

Sometimes when I have several posts planned, I am unable to review a book. This is the case with Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick. It’s simply amazing, but I don’t I have the time to review it. Let’s pretend I did, shall we? I give it 5 stars {*****} for an intriguing story, half in words, half in pictures, about two deaf children in different time periods. Another winner from Brian Selznick!

I will now spend the next hour with Katniss and Peeta ;)

Bella :)

2 thoughts on “Sketchy Behavior: A Book Review

Say Hello!

