The Hunger Games: A Book Review

Hello!

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

*Read on my Kindle

Summary: In the ruins of what was once known as North America, lies the country of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve districts. Long ago, the districts fought against the Capitol and were defeated. If they were to surrender, they had to agree to send one boy and one girl from each district to participate in the annual, brutal Hunger Games. A fight to death on television, the boys and girls, or the tributes, have to kill one another until only the victor remains. When Katniss’ younger sister, Prim, is chosen as a tribute, Katniss volunteers to take her place. Along with Peeta, the son of a baker, Katniss is put against bigger, stronger representatives, who have no doubt been preparing for the games for their entire life. There are poisonous plants, deadly animals, and starvation, but Katniss promised Prim she would try her best to win. Will Katniss survive, or will one of the other tributes get to her first?

My Thoughts: Now, before I go on, please be warned that there may be spoilers ;) Anyhoo, this was one of the books downloaded on my Kindle on Christmas, and now that I’ve finished the first one, I will be getting book two and three, as well! Katniss was quite smart, and although she appeared tough, I liked when the reader was able to see her sensitive side around Prim and Rue.  Obviously, she would have to live, with two more books written about her, but the author provided plenty of situations in which I was second-guessing her survival. From the summaries, I expected there to be more of a connection between her and Gale, but he only appeared in the beginning of the story. Peeta was okay, but wasn’t well developed. One minute, he was playful and loving, but in the next, he was tough and distant. Towards the end, however, he grew as a character. Rue was the BEST, and I hated that she had to die :( Along with Prim, they were my favorite characters. Thresh’s kindness was not something that I expected. I was sure he would kill Katniss right on the spot! I <3 Effie and Haymitch as well. While reading the book, I understand why there are so many rave reviews! It was definitely worth the amount of time I spent reading it over the weekend. Just two more months until the movie :)

Pros: Developed story and original characters.

Cons: Nothing in my opinion!

Heads Up: The writing is very graphic, and there is plenty of violence. {I mean, the story is about killing people!}

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Lear more about the other two books in the trilogy here.

Learn about the movie here.

Have you read The Hunger Games yet?

Bella :)

9 thoughts on “The Hunger Games: A Book Review

Say Hello!

