Hugo

Hi!

First of all, I wasn’t really feeling the whole winter background and header, considering I have no snow on the ground where I live, so I did some searching and found this lovely background on Makin’ Cute Blogs. It reminded me of Vera Bradley’s Mocha Rouge and I thought it would be perfect for the upcoming month of February! I have NO idea if I am going to keep it at this point, but it will take me a few more days to decide! What do you think?

Hugo {2011}

Stars:

  • Asa Butterfield
  • Chloe Grace Moretz
  • Sacha Baron Cohen
  • Ben Kingsley
  • Helen McCrory

Summary: Without the help of Hugo Cabret {Butterfield}, none of the clocks in a certain train station in Paris. After his father died in a fire, Hugo had to survive on his own in  the walls of the station, managing the clocks and avoiding the station inspector {Cohen}. Hugo’s life is bursting with secrets, from the fact that his uncle, his “guardian”, is dead to the strange, broken automaton he owns. Nothing would make Hugo happier than to finish the challenge he and his father started – to fix the automaton. In order to do this, Hugo steals small gadgets and gizmos from an old shopkeeper {Kingsley}, and has never been caught in the act, until now. Hugo’s journal is taken away by the elderly man, and Hugo will stop at nothing to get it back. On his journey to retrieve his father’s beloved book, he meets Isabelle {Moretz}, who lives with the shopkeeper. She promises Hugo that she will try to help them, and that is the beginning of an unexpected friendship and a suspenseful adventure. Will Hugo fix his father’s machine without being brought to the orphanage first?

My Thoughts: This was my movie pick for the last day of my winter vacation. I read the OUTstanding book The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick about three years ago, and it was the inspiration for this movie. I thought that this particular story was an odd choice for a movie, but nonetheless, they accomplished it. The beginning of the movie was fairly boring, but it picked up in the middle. By no means is this supposed to be an action-packed movie, but the first few minutes weren’t necessary. The casting was well-done, and I loved the actors they chose for Hugo, Isabelle, and the station inspector. Speaking of, the scenes with the inspector were funny, and added humor to a rather dark movie. I <3 when he tried to ask his true love out :) The small clips from when film was introduced was a great touch, and I actually learned a lot about early filmmaking. Hugo had a few memorable scenes, but I was also bored with the large amount of you know, nothing.

Pros: Fabulous casting and an interesting story.

Cons: Slightly boring; Not a lot of action

Heads Up: Some references to drinking, and some language, but it is a pretty family friendly movie.

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} for a solid film. I recommend it for ages 8 and up.

To learn more about the inspiration for Hugo, click here.

Bella :)

One thought on “Hugo

Say Hello!

