Wolves, Boys and Other Things That Might Kill Me: A Book Review

Hello!

That was some title ;)Wolves, Boys and Other Things That Might Kill Me

Wolves, Boys and Other Things That Might Kill Me by Kristen Chandler

Summary: KJ Carson is an only child, living with her dad, a fishing and wildlife guide, just outside of Yellowstone National Park. Always outside, either on the water or the mountains, KJ is used to the various species of animals in her hometown.  However, she was not prepared for her neighbors’ reactions to the reintroduction of the wolves at Yellowstone. You were a lover or a hater of the idea, and KJ wasn’t sure where she fit in. When Virgil, a new boy from Minnesota, was partnered with her to work on a report about the wolves, for the school newspaper, KJ realizes her feelings for the wolves and the new kid. Virgil takes the pictures, and KJ writes up the column, and they both spend time outside watching the wolves and each other. But, as the weeks go on, the wolves create more and more chaos and eventually, danger. KJ doesn’t want anybody to get hurt, but she can’t not stand up for the wolves. Will she and Virgil be able to save the animals, or will they be hurt first?

My Thoughts: This story covered a new genre/topic for me, and I enjoyed the read! Going into this book, I had just abandoned two novels, but after the first chapter, I knew I would read this over my vacay. KJ is different from many of the main girl characters out there now. She is intelligent, courageous,  and not that into romance. Because of this, I was looking forward to seeing how she dealt with obstacles in the story. Virgil was fine, but at times, I found him frustrating because of how calm and/or silent he was. I know this was part of his personality, but a bit of emotion would have been nice. KJ’s dad was extremely harsh, but I think he was only doing what he thought was best for his daughter. I guess I have a love/hate thing going on with him. Kristen Chandler did a FAB job creating the characters and personalities, and in my experience, you have to be a pretty good writer to provoke me to hate a character. The plot was so-so. I found it dragged along, but there were some memorable moments thrown in. The parade was just… wow, and went to show how people react to a situation. I don’t want to give too much away! In the end, it was a different and refreshing novel, but I don’t think I would purchase it.

Pros: Developed characters.

Cons: Okay plot.

Heads Up: Violence, language and fairly romantic scenes.

Overall: I give this 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Girls Don't Fly

Kirsten Chandler has one other book, Girls Don’t Fly, which looks worth checking out. You can learn more here.

Bella :)

3 thoughts on “Wolves, Boys and Other Things That Might Kill Me: A Book Review

Say Hello!

