The Clueless Girl’s Guide to Being a Genius: A Book Review

Hello!

The Clueless Girl's Guide to Being a Genius

The Clueless Girl’s Guide to Being a Genius by Janice Repka

Summary: At age four, Aphrodite was accepted into the Gifted and Talented Program. At age eight, she graduated from elementary school, at age nine, completed middle school, and at age eleven, finished high school, Now, a thirteen year old math prodigy, Aphrodite Wigglesmith is teaching a group of math challenged students, who will have to repeat eighth grade if they don’t pass. She hopes to prove her bold theory – anyone can be a math genius like her if they just have the right instruction. But, with students like Mindy Loft, it is going to be a challenge. Mindy could care less about the difference between a square root and a hair root. With a mother who owns a hair salon, Mindy is more focused on her popularity and her baton twirling. Both girls have a lot to learn from each other, but will the fact that Aphrodite is the brains, and Mindy is the beauty, draw them apart?

My Thoughts: Although it was a short read, I enjoyed every minute of The Clueless Girl’s Guide to Being a Genius! As the title suggested, Aphrodite was just so darn clueless! However, I loved her intentions, and she was the kindest and sweetest character in the book. Janice Repka did a terrific job creating different personalities for each character. Mindy was easy to connect with because of her honesty, and her actions and emotions were realistic for a middle schooler. I loved the unexpected friendship between the two, and I felt that they were themselves around each other. The math class may not have been the brightest, but each student had some fab one-liners! I will say I wasn’t pleased with the adults, excluding Mindy’s mother and the men at the pool place. I disliked Aphrodite’s professors. I mean, she may be a math genius, but she’s only thirteen years old! The teachers at the middle school were rude and not very welcoming to Aphrodite, and some of the adults, such as the principal, were a bit stupid for their age. The plot was SO cute, and I loved the happy ending. It may not have been that realistic, but… well, I won’t give anything away ;) I hope to see more of Mindy and Aphrodite, and meanwhile, I will look for more books by Janice Repka!

Pros: Developed and easy to connect with characters!

Cons: The plot was adorable, but basic. The writing also seemed to be for a lower reading level than the suggested age.

Heads Up: Nothing to be warned about.

Overall: I give it 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} for a light-hearted, basic read! I recommend it for ages 10 and up.

American GOTY 2012 McKenna Brooks

OH MY. This afternoon, I found the McKenna {American Girl’s Girl of the Year 2012} book covers, and the doll! The doll was found here, and the book cover was found here. I think she is adorable, but she looks like a few of the other dolls. I doubt she will be coming my way, but I can not wait to see her clothing and accessories! I just wish the GOTY’s had more diversity. We’ve had a lot of the same type of dolls. What do you think of McKenna? This is what I look forward to every January!

If you need some last minute holiday cheer, last year’s Glee holiday special will be on tonight at eight!

Bella :)

One thought on “The Clueless Girl’s Guide to Being a Genius: A Book Review

Say Hello!

