loving >> week 30

Hello!

I’m loving…

american girl’s july/august 2012 issue

I am kind of bored with writing these little intros about how excited I was to receive my magazine and how looong I waited for it, aren’t you? :) I think it would be perfectly fine to go right into my favorite articles from AG’s jumbo summer issue. So, in list format, here is what I enjoyed reading the most…

  • stay cool! For this month’s contest, American Girl asked readers to send in their best summer drink recipes. I have to say that those chosen totally deserve it.  They all look oh-so yummy, but I can’t wait to make Wowie Brownie Milk Shake and the Peanut Butter Berry Blast.
  • the story contest winners Best stories I have read in AG in a while! “Oh, Sister!” was so sweet, and the ending was such an aww-worthy moment. “The Show Must Go On” was another great one, and I felt bad for that poor director!
  • this or that? These silly questions were too funny :) I always look forward to what ideas AG thinks of, and this time didn’t let me down!
  • the ocean paradise poster Truly, this is what makes the summer issue so good! Each year, I anxiously await to find out what the theme will be for the BIG poster. This year it was ocean-themed, complete with mermaids, fishies, and shells. Time to bring out the markers!
  • secrets from the set While I haven’t seen the McKenna movie yet, this was almost as good! Jade Pettyjohn, who plays McKenna, shared what happened behind the scenes. I will definitely be watching it on July 14th.

*The photo of Julie and Ivy that had been floating around the internet makes me angry. Why do we have to wait until next week before it is released!?

brave

I have been waiting for this to come out for what seems like forever! With all the hype, I think Brave will have an outstanding opening weekend. I love that Disney made their newest princess a bit sportier {archery is so in} and less girlie than those from the past, and I think the storyline is simply brilliant. Pixar always does good, so it can’t be a total fail :) I hope to see this around the Fourth of July with my family. Movies are so nice when its 90 degrees outside.

Lennon and Maisy Stella

lennon and maisy

Gosh, there are so many talented people out there! Lennon and Maisy rock. They deserve every single word of praise given, and I hope that they will continue singing. There’s no doubt that they will be appearing on Ellen sooner or later :)

Va Va BloomPaisley Meets PlaidIndigo Pop

vera bradley’s autumn line

Vera Bradley has been giving us some sneak peeks of the summer patterns before they are officially released on June 28th. {The Dorm Collection is released on June 28th, while the Signature Collection will be released on July 10th. Right before my b-day. Oh, yes!} The three patterns are gorgeous, and from the top are Va Va Bloom, Paisley Meets Plaid, and Indigo Pop. I like them all, but if I had to choose, it would definitely be Va Va Bloom. I can totally see my self getting a bag in that in the near future. I think Paisley Meets Plaid is such a fun pattern for autumn, and combines a classic design with girly accents. Indigo Pop is what I call the cool pattern :) Fortunately, its young and chic, so I think that it will sell well. What do you think of the fall line?

Blush Wine Vinaigrette

this yummy dressing!

Best. Thing. Ever. That might be a *slight* exaggeration, but I really do love my dressing. I love it on a simple summer salad, with a sprinkle of goat cheese. Want to make it yourself? Use the recipe below, and try it for lunch tomorrow!

Simple Summer Salad

ingredients

  • 1 to 2 cups salad mix {I use whatever is in my fridge}
  • 3 to 4 strawberries, halved
  • 1 tablespoon goat cheese
  • Blush Wine Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Croutons
  • Chicken pieces {optional. I tend to use sliced chicken nuggets because that’s what the cool kids do :) But really, grilled chicken, chicken nuggets or no chicken at all will work.}

Toss and combine the salad mix, strawberries, and chicken, if using. Serve with goat cheese, dressing and croutons. Serves one.

Have a lovely night!

Bella :)

*Did you all hear the news about the Smekday movie!? {based after the AHmazing novel by Adam Rex} It will star Rihanna and Jim Parsons, and is planned to come out in 2014. Yippee!

Leave a comment

Filed under Love Lists, Recipes

Say Hello!

